computer file organization

I thought I’d do something a little bit different today and show you how I organize my files on my computer. When I’m doing work for a ton of classes at a time it comes in handy to have an exact place for it to all go. I also love being able to go back and find something because its exactly where it should be. For me, organization is key and is what keeps me sane during the school year! At this point, our computers are our life so I think they should be just as clean and tidy as you’d want your surroundings to be.

Screen Shot 2014-05-22 at 10.45.36 PMCategories! They are color coordinated so that I can easily see them ( in other views you get full on color). If a category is particularly important it gets a star in front so that it will stay at the top of the list. I generally work in one category at a time.

Screen Shot 2014-05-22 at 10.45.50 PMThen within a folder, for example Emory second semester, each class gets a folder. Sometimes if I’m feeling ambitious different parts of the class get a folder.

Screen Shot 2014-05-22 at 10.46.31 PMAnother thing I always make sure to do: When professors send back graded papers in an email, I save a copy to the folder so I can go back and look at it easily. This also assures that I always have a permanent record of that paper which would in the past have been on paper.

The exception to my rule is my blog folder – it’s on my desktop because I find I use a lot of screenshots and downloads, and that images are harder to upload quickly from my regular folder.

Every once in a while when I have free time I go through and put lost files into their proper folder to make sure I keep it clean.

Was this helpful? How do you organize your desktop?

 

4 thoughts on “computer file organization

  1. Orly says:

    omg this looks so much like my computer! you mind if i do a post like this, inspire of yours, and give you credit for it, of course? i want to publish it today
    you took hebrew 102? i speak a little of hebrew. Ze kashe, abal ani lamadeti hibrit va beit sefer!
    xo
    Orly
    coffeebeansandhighheels.weebly.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

