diy memory mason jar

Mason jars have been all over the place this year – and they’re beyond great looking. I love how they can look sophisticated, fun, and they’re easy to craft with. I found some for only $2 locally and I kicked my Pinterest searching into high gear…

You may have heard of a memory jar, usually around New Years. The idea is that anything good that happens, you can write on a piece of paper and put into the jar. Then at the end of the year you have an overflowing container of everything great that’s happened to you that you can go back through! (Also works well when you’re upset or down on yourself).

I know a lot of people who do this for the school year and I thought it would be great to start when I return to campus for fall semester. So much happens in a year at school and most of it is forgotten – I think it would be a great way to remember my whole year.

Mason Jars on my Pinterest – some of my inspirations are on this board!

IMG_0001

The setup: $.69 cent paints from Michaels (most from other projects) and a set of cheap paintbrushes. I decided to go for light yellow, green, and blue with some white for my jar.

IMG_0005

IMG_0009

IMG_0010

First, I recommend putting some rubbing alcohol over the jar just to clean off any residue that might be on there. I taped out some stripes with painters tape my mason jar. Make sure that the tape is firmly stuck onto the jar, especially where there were raised letters because those are spots that paint can easily get underneath.

IMG_0011

I tried to be as neat as I could be about the painting, although some still seeped under. I had to do three or four coats of paint to get it to be opaque. If you like, you can leave it so that you can see through the jar but you will see the brushstrokes. It is important that the paint dries in between each coat otherwise it will smudge.

IMG_0013

Since mason jars have an antique feel, they are often made to look worn and rustic. At first I wasn’t planning on doing this, but the color looked almost fake, and I wanted to create windows to the inside of the jar. So, I took some sandpaper and distressed the edges a little bit, especially on corners and where the letters were raised.

 

IMG_0016

IMG_0014

I love the look – it will be fabulous in my room next year. I’m glad that I antiqued the look a little bit because it adds to the jar more. This was a test run but now I can make many more (thanks Pinterest for all of the ideas!).

Afterwards I mixed some glue with water  and coated it to seal the paint in, but if it seems like its chipping more I’ll probably cover it in some paint sealer. In the future, I might add a ribbon or some embellishments to other designs.

I can’t wait to fill it with memories! What do you think?

 

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “diy memory mason jar

  1. haleyberry says:

    I love this idea! I started something similar with words of encouragement from people I went to camp with. Whenever I look back at them, no matter how bad the day had been, it always makes me feel happier. I hope you enjoy yours as much as I do!

    Like

Leave a Reply

