breaking in jack rogers

I finally ordered a pair of the classic Navajo sandal in platinum when they were on sale at Nordstrom. I’ve heard that they can be quite a pain to break in, and after reading up online the best method seemed to be wearing them in ocean water so that they can mold to your feet.

2014-06-24 13.03.14

2014-06-24 14.28.41

Jacks meet the beach.

I realized that instead of wearing the sandals into the surf I was better off holding them in my hand and dipping them in the water when the waves rolled in. Then, I wore them around my hotel room while they were wet to mold them into the right shape while they dried.  Today when I put them on, they seemed a lot more comfortable and were not rubbing painfully on my feet.

At first, the Jacks also lacked traction on the bottom because the soles haven’t been scuffed up yet. People recommend just walking around in them to solve this – but I took a scissor and drew lines in the bottom and it worked just as well.

I can’t wait to wear them around! How have you broken your Jacks in?

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “breaking in jack rogers

  1. Anon says:

    You do not do not want to get them near the water it will 100% ruin the shoe I was in a public restaurant and got a little drop of water in the and it had a water stain that is still here it’s been 3 weeks please dont do the water thing it will ruin it

    Like

Leave a Reply

