a note on textbooks

With textbook buying season right around the corner (I’ve already made spreadsheets comparing prices), a sorority sister posted a fabulous way to buy. I get most of mine on Amazon, but from now on I’ll be using Amazon Smile, which donates 5% of the price of eligible purchases to the charity of your choice.

I took a quick scroll through the list and the possibilities are endless – I could donate to my sorority’s philanthropy, Girls on the Run, or Make-A-Wish, a foundation that I’ve always loved. It even breaks it down by the regional organization so that your money can go close to your heart.  I love that Girls on the Run Atlanta, the organization that Emory Gamma Phi works directly to support, is on there. They also claim to be able to reach out to any unlisted charity so that they can begin accepting Amazon donations.

I think this is genius on Amazon’s part, and I wish that more people knew about it. I spend a ton of money on Amazon every year and it would be great to know that it is going to a good cause. Of course, not all items may be eligible but I’m really hoping the majority are. 5% isn’t much but it can definitely add up quickly.

Textbook shopping just got a little bit happier!

6 thoughts on “a note on textbooks

  1. thehopefulwayfarer says:

    Wow, I’ve never heard of Amazon Smile! I’m definitely going to check it out now; it would make me feel a little better about purchasing textbooks if it helps out a charity (even if it is just .5%).

    Like

  2. Zuri says:

    Thanks for this post – I’m not looking forward to scraping together funds for books this year – but at least knowing part of it is going to charity is an added bonus! And a spreadsheet? Wow, you’re more organized than I am.

    Like

  3. Jason says:

    Have you heard of iMyne? It’s similar to AmazonSmile, except you earn money back for yourself and 10% is automatically donated to charity. It’s also free to use! Even more, Amazon is in the list of retailers to choose from! It’s for sure worth checking out. http://www.imyne.com.

    Like

Leave a Reply

