laundry lessons

I thought I was pretty good at doing my own laundry. After all, I’ve been at college for more than a year now and I’ve had to do my fair share of it. That was, until I had the unfortunate experience of shrinking my backpack this week.

Lesson #1: Do not put a North Face backpack in the dryer. 

I purchased a white North Face backpack at the beginning of the year because I liked the look and thought that it was something a little different. After all, I’m in college and I can keep my backpack clean. So when it had a little bit of dirt on the top yesterday I decided to throw it in the washer and the dryer (after consulting my mom for laundry advice). The wash went fine. I thought that the dryer went fine — until I went to look at the straps! The best way to describe it is a raisin. It’s sitting in my room, staring at me, looking me in the eye. It’s also even more dirty than it ever was – I think the washing must have brought it all to the surface?!

IMG_4307.JPGI guess I’m getting a new backpack, which I will NEVER put in the dryer.

Today I ordered this lovely Jansport, which I hope will be arriving within the next few days.

It’s funny because all summer as I searched for backpacks I ruled Jansport out because I did not want their classic design. However, I stumbled upon this one which has a little bit of flair and style, as well as fun pockets. It’s a little bit different while still being nicely made bag with a laptop sleeve and room for all of my books. I can’t wait for it to come – my back is dying from lugging around my laptop and all of my books in a shoulder bag. Needless to say, I appreciate my North Face now more than I ever have!

 

5 thoughts on “laundry lessons

Leave a Reply

