diy fold over elastic hair ties

It’s been a while since I’ve done a DIY, and I have simple yet extremely useful one today. I’ve been hooked on elastic hair ties for quite some time now. They just work so much better for managing my thick hair, and look like jewelry on my wrist.

I was at a fabric store near school that was having a blowout closing sale when I found some of this elastic in cute colors. Considering that these hair ties cost around $12 for a pack of four at most retailers, and I made eight for $3, I’d say this is a pretty great deal!

There are so many more patterns and styles you can find online, but I went for simple, wearable colors for this set.

Materials:

Elastic

Scissors (fairly sharp ones!)

Your Hands

Directions:

There are a few methods to determine how to measure the proper length for each band. One way is to fold the elastic around your wrist, then add a bit more elastic for the knot to be constructed from. Using this method, I was able to get four ties out of each pack of elastic.

You can also measure out approximately 8 inches with a ruler for an adult wrist. However, I was more concerned with how these would fit with my hair. Store bought ties tend to be an awkward size for me, and are often too lose and don’t hold my hair. I made a variety of sizes to experiment with this time to find out what I liked best.

I cut the edges of my elastic at a slight angle to prevent fraying. Some people will use a flame to burn the edges together, however I’ve found that they hold just as well without the extra step! This is also where a sharp scissor comes in handy – the cleaner cut you can get the less fraying.

2014-12-23 17.12.17To finish the hair ties, simply tie a knot. Be careful not to leave too much or too little fabric at the edge (it took me a few tries to get this right!), and pull the knot as tight as you can. Then, your ties are done and ready to wear!

It can’t get easier then that! These ties can make a nice little present, save you a few dollars, or be coordinated to team outfits for school spirit. I’m excited to experiment with patterns, the possibilities are endless!

2014-12-23 23.45.37

 

2 thoughts on “diy fold over elastic hair ties

Leave a Reply

